# THE MEDICAL COLLEGE OF SAINT BARTHOLOMEW'S HOSPITAL TRUST

# Biographies of figures giving their names to the Trust's awards

# John Abernethy FRS (1764-1831)

John Abernethy was a surgeon and founded the Medical College of Saint Bartholomew's Hospital. He was appointed lecturer in anatomy to the Royal College of Surgeons in 1814 and, in the following year, was elected principal surgeon of Saint Bartholomew's Hospital.

## Dame Lesley Rees DBE (b. 1942)

Dame Lesley Rees is currently emeritus Professor of Chemical Endocrinology at Saint Bartholomew's Hospital. She co-founded the Centre for Clinical Endocrinology at the Hospital and, in 1980, was the youngest Fellow admitted to the Royal College of Physicians. She became the first female Dean of the Medical College of Saint Bartholomew's Hospital in 1989 and held the role until 1995, when she led the College to its successful merger as part of Queen Mary University of London.

#### Dame Margaret Seward CBE (b. 1935)

Having trained at The London Hospital, Dame Margaret Seward became the first woman to be appointed as the Resident Dental House Surgeon there. At different times she was the editor of the British Dental Journal and the International Dental Journal, as well as being the first female President of both the British Dental Association and the General Dental Council. She was appointed Chief Dental Officer in 2000.

# Edith Cavell (1865-1915)

Edith Cavell trained as a nurse at Fountain Fever Hospital and then The London Hospital, and was recruited in 1907 by Dr Antoine Depage to establish a school for nurses in Brussels. During World War I, Cavell treated wounded Allied soldiers and was part of a network which helped over 200 to escape from occupied Belgium. She was killed by German soldiers on 12 October 1915.

#### Samuel Gee (1839-1911)

Samuel Gee qualified and worked as a surgeon at University College Hospital, and was subsequently appointed a house surgeon at Saint Bartholomew's in 1868. He was particularly renowned as a paediatrician and made the first full clinical description of coeliac disease. In 1901 he was appointed physician to George, Prince of Wales.

# Sir James Paget, 1st Baronet (1814-1899)

Sir James Paget was a surgeon and pathologist, considered to be one of the founders of scientific medical pathology. He was at one time surgeon extraordinary to Queen Victoria and was also the curator of Saint Bartholomew's Hospital museum. He was appointed President of the Royal College of Surgeons and the Pathological Society of London. The James Paget Hospital, Great Yarmouth and a number of diseases are named after him.

#### **Donald Hunter CBE FRCP (1898-1978)**

Donald Hunter was born in east London. He entered The London Hospital in 1915 but left in World War I to become a surgeon probationer. After the war, he returned to The London Hospital and qualified in 1920. He was renowned as a gifted and charismatic lecturer and was considered a world authority on industrial medicine. He co-authored the influential *Clinical Methods* textbook.

# THE MEDICAL COLLEGE OF SAINT BARTHOLOMEW'S HOSPITAL TRUST

### Biographies of figures giving their names to the Trust's awards

### Professor Geoffrey Slack CBE TD (1912-1991)

Geoffrey Slack arrived from Liverpool School of Dentistry in 1959 and took on the role of Professor of Dental Surgery at The London Hospital. He was Dean of Dental Studies from 1965-1969, before heading an Epidemiology Unit at the Medical Research Council. He advised on training courses for the World Health Organisation and has been described as the father of dental public health.

#### Sir William Girling Ball (1881-1945)

Having been Hunterian Professor of Surgery at the Royal College of Surgeons, Girling Ball was warden of the residential college for students at Saint Bartholomew's Hospital from 1913 to 1920, reorganising it on modern lines and being instrumental in the acquisition of the Charterhouse Square site. He became the Dean of the Medical School in 1925 and held the position until 1939. He was elected President of the Royal Society of Medicine in 1938.